CanadaLevel not stated

National Program (JD)

University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario

Fee for international students

CA$26,204 a year (as of 2026)
Intakes
September
Duration
Not published
Book a free consultation

Programme facts

Level
Level not stated
Duration
Not published
Language of teaching
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Credits
Not published
Intakes
SeptemberTypical for this country

About this programme

As a law school accredited by the Canadian Federation of Law Societies, the Common Law Section of the Faculty of Law offers a full range of courses in public law, private law, litigation and dispute resolution, aboriginal law, international law and human rights, technology law, and environmental law, all with numerous opportunities for experiential learning. The Common Law Section offers a special double degree program under which selected civil law graduates, through subsequent studies, may be awarded the JD degree. Applicants apply to the one-year program after completing a civil law degree or during the third year of their civil law studies. The number of places in this program is limited. Priority is given to applicants who have completed their civil law studies at the University of Ottawa, though a number of spaces are reserved for out of province students. Applicants are evaluated primarily on academic performance in the LLL program. By way of reference, in the past few years, successful applicants have had on average a 6.0 (or "B") GPA. Applicants may use a personal statement to highlight discrepancies in their transcripts which resulted from circumstances beyond their control. Active knowledge of French and English is necessary. Students must therefore be able to read and express themselves in both official languages, otherwise they may encounter difficulties. Requirements for this program have been modified. Please consult the 2019-2020 calendars for the previous requirements.

Entry requirements

Typical for this university, not this programme's own requirement.

  • IELTS6.5 overall
Prerequisites
Undergraduate entry (Bangladeshi HSC): ~70%+; Typical international undergraduate tuition: CAD 38-50k
Check if you qualify